IHSGCA Association Meeting Minutes

April 20st, 2011

Agenda Items:

Current Balance: \$18,077.83

GC A www.ihsgca.org

Membership:

\$25.00 Head Coach, \$20.00 Assistant, \$15.00 Associate Member. Please pay dues to Tim Hamman. Make checks payable to IHSGCA. **Please do so soon! Membership MUST be paid to vote at Sectionals!** Contact Tim if you need to pay/have questions. (thamman@d211.org)

Philanthropy:

Two \$500 scholarships are available this year. Application is on the website. Steering Committee will select the recipients based on the application(s). Due at today's meeting.

<u>Casino Night</u>: Frank Novakowski is continuing to work to get the Casino nights a regular fundraiser for the Association. More information to follow in the future.

<u>State Meet</u>: While at the State Meet, we must encourage our coaches to comply with IHSA officials and ensure that we have a smoothly run meet with no problems. We want to continue making a good impression in both our dress and deportment. There will be four coaches passes given for team qualifiers and two coaches passes for individual qualifiers.

Coach of the Year:

Mike Galfi will be creating a sheet for each conference rep to fill out electronically and email back to Tim Hamman (thamman@d211.org). This sheet will have a space for your respective conference's Head and JV coach of the year. It will also have spaces for the names of the seniors that will represent your conference at the John Brinkworth Senior All-Star meet. PLEASE COMPLETE THIS AND SEND IT TO TIM ASAP AFTER YOUR CONFERENCE MEET.

Conference Reps:

MSL East: Keith Mukai MSL West: Tim Hamman DVC: Chad Downie WSC Gold: Jason Suchy WSC Silver: Al Bekkedal Independent: Jesse Piland SWSC: Pete Kelland CSL: Doug Foerch

John Brinkworth Scholarship:

NOMINATIONS <u>DUE APRIL 22</u> to Betty Axelson-McClelland Nominations & Letters of Recommendation <u>E-MAILED to Eggsgymbetty@aol.com.</u> Do Not FAX. Please visit website for more information and nomination form

<u>HOF Banquet/Golf Outing</u>: The HOF Golf Outing will be held Tuesday, May 17th. 3:30pm tee times at Old Orchard, 7pm start time for banquet at Gary Morava Center. Registration for the golf outing can be done on the IHSGCA Website. This year's inductees are Seymour Rifkind and Wayne Selvig.

All-Star Meet:

Updates: Meet to be held at Niles North High School May 21st at 11am. (A thank you to Rick Meyer!)Random Draw was given. (1- WSC Gold, 2- MSL- West, 3- MSL East, 4- WSC- Silver, 5-DVC, 6- IND, 7- CSL, 9- SWSC) This meet is essentially a 8 team event. Each conference needs to list their seniors who will compete in the Conference Championships. Senior All-Star Competitors will be named at the conclusion of the Conference Championships. In order for a gymnast to compete he must have a coach from his school present at the meet. Conference Reps, please make sure that you email the names of the top five seniors on each event to Tim Hamman (thamman@d211.org) Please make sure at your conference meet that the top five seniors on each event are able to compete in the All-Star meet.

We also need judges! Any judges who would be interested in volunteering contact Ryan Dengel.

Senior Gymnast:

Nominations were due by tonight.

<u>Job Postings</u>: All positions are currently listed on the <u>www.ihsgca.org</u> website. Please email Frank Novakowski if you have any to add or remove. (<u>fnovakow@cusd200.org</u>)

<u>Rules Proposals</u>: Submit in writing to Sec/Treas. At May meeting (discuss in November, vote in December) This is just for lower level proposals.

<u>Judges:</u> The newest rules interpretations are available online. Please make sure you check these before the conference meets.

Nominations: Voting to take place at the May Meeting. See below.

New Business:

Host schools for varsity conference meets, please remember to accommodate for the flashing of start values in some way.

Secretary/Treasurer

Nominator	Nominee	Seconded
Tim Hamman	Keith Mukai	Greg Gebhardt

Sportswriter of the Year:

Nominator	Nominee	Seconded
Chad Downie	Chris Walker	Tim Hamman
Pete Kelland	Bill Stone	Mike Galfi
Pete Kelland	Alan Macy	Ben Anderson

Steering Committee:

Nominator	Nominee	Seconded
Tim Hamman	Frank Novakowski	Mike Galfi
Mike Galfi	Greg Gebhardt	Tim Hamman

Doug Foerch	Scott Hagel	Mike Galfi
Paul Kim	Mike Costa	Tim Hamman
Steve Foerch	Adrian Batista	Tim Hamman
Scott Hagel	Chris Stevens	Paul Kim
Doug Foerch	Blaise Blasko	Tim Hamman

Hall of Fame Committee:

Nominator	Nominee	Seconded
Greg Gebhardt	Brad Foerch	Mike Galfi
Bruce Beiersdorf	Mark Wanner	Tim Hamman
Tim Hamman	Bill Watts	Bruce Beiersdorf
Bruce Beiersdorf	Steve Foerch	Mike Galfi

State Meet Special Recognition Award:

Nominator	Nominee	Seconded
Vic Avigliano	Al Goodman	Tim Hamman
Eric Harima	Howie Ruben	Tim Hamman
Greg Gebhardt	Scott Phillips	Ben Anderson
Peter Kallend	Don Raymond	Mike Galfi
Peter Kallend	Mary Blustein	Mike Galfi

Rules Committee:

Nominator	Nominee	Seconded
Doug Foerch	Blaise Blasko	Chad Downie
Doug Foerch	Scott Hagel	Greg Gebhardt
Tim Hamman	Vic Avigliano	Ben Anderson
Scott Hagel	Chris Stevens	Tim Hamman
Doug Foerch	Chad Downie	Scott Hagel
Doug Foerch	Chris Cassidy	Scott Hagel
Douy Foerch	Skip Adamson	Scott Hagel
Mike Galfi	Howie Sokal	Tim Hamman

Attendance:

Mike Galfi (Addison Trail)

Greg Gebhardt (Wheaton WS)

Steve Foerch (Niles West)

Adrian Batista (Niles West)

Ben Anderson (Fremd)

Tim Hamman (Fremd)

Erik Bostrom (Schaumburg)

Paul Kim (Conant)

Eric Harima (Schaumburg)

Chad Downie (Wheaton North)

Peter Kallend (Homewood-Flossmoor)

Keith Mukai (Elk Grove)

Bruce Beiersdorf

Scott Phillips (Hoffman Estates) Howard Ruben (Schaumburg) Vic Avigliano Erik Bostrom (Schaumburg) Mike Costa (Rolling Meadows)